Awards and Honors

Koss Medal Awards for Advancement of Urological Pathology

The Koss Medal is named in honor of Leopold G Koss, late Chairman and Professor of Pathology at University Hospital of the Albert Einstein College, New York, USA. He was a major figure in the formation of the International Society of Urological Pathology and served as Foundation President. The medal is awarded for a lifetime achievement in the broad field of urological pathology and is the highest award bestowed by the Society.

2020 Dr. Isabell A. Sesterhenn
2019 Dr. Jae Y. Ro
2017 Theodorus van der Kwast
Stephan Störkel
2016 David J Grignon
2015 Guido Martignoni
2014 Thomas M Ulbright
2013 Antonio Cubilla
2012 Rodolfo Montironi
Victor Reuter
2011 Gregor Mikuz
John R. Srigley
Robert (Robin) H. Young 
2010 Alberto Ayala
2008 Lars Egevad
2005 Helen Michael
2004 Liang Cheng
2003 Christer Busch
Brett Delahunt
John N Eble
Jonathan I Epstein
F Kash Mostofi
Ronald S Weinstein 

Recipients of the Grawitz Medal

The Grawitz Medal is named in honor of Paul Albert Grawitz, who was Assistant to Virchow at the Pathology Institute in Berlin and later Professor of Pathology at the University of Greifswald, Germany. He was responsible for much of the debate regarding the pathogenesis of renal cell carcinoma and is eponymously associated with that tumor. The medal is awarded to members of the International Society of Urological Pathology for meritorious service relating to the work of the Society and/or to urological pathology in general.


2017 Robert H. Young
2016 Isabell Sesterhenn  
2014 Samson Fine
2013 David G. Bostwick
John N. Eble
Jonathan I. Epstein
Brett Delahunt
John R. Srigley
Cristina Magi-Galluzzi
Kiril Trpkov
Kenneth Iczkowski

Jubilee Lectureship

In celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Society, the Jubilee Lectureship was established to fund the awarded lecturer to give 3 traveling presentations in the name of the Society. The first award was presented at the ISUP Companion Meeting at the USCAP 2017 Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

2017 David J Grignon


ISUP Stipend Award

The Stipend committee is currently chaired by Maria Tretiakova (University of Washington, USA). The other committee members are  Trevor Flood (University of  Ottawa, Canada) and Arndt Hartmann (Friedrich-Alexander University, Germany). The International Society of Urologic Pathology (ISUP) Stipends are awarded annually to outstanding trainees in Pathology with demonstrated interest in Urologic Pathology. Four awards are currently typically granted each year and are utilized by recipients to either attend a national/international meeting with a Urologic Pathology focus or towards travel to study with an expert(s) in Urologic Pathology at another institution. The application cycle begins on or around October 15th, with awards announced before years-end. The committee was chaired by Liang Cheng 2006-2008  and from 2008-2018 by Samson Fine.

2020 Anne Offerman University, Hospital Schleswig Holstein, Germany
2020 Alessiani Cimadamore Polytechnic University of the Marche Region,      Italy
2020 Taneja Kanika Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, USA
2020 Andrea Olivas University of Chicago, USA
2017-2018 Andres Acosta University of Illinois at Chicago
Rongbin Ge University of Massachusetts
Yuri Tolkach University Hospital of Bonn, Germany
Lisha Wang University of Michigan
2016-2017 Anna Calio University of Verona, Italy
Julien Dagher  Rennes University Med School, France
Faruk Skenderi  University of Sarajevo Medical Center, Bosnia &Herzegovina
Tong Sun  University of Massachusetts
2015-2016 Martin Magers University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
Previn Gulavita Brigham and Womens Hospital, Boston, MA
Rola Saleeb University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada
Sounak Gupta Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
2014-2015 Martin Braun University Hospital Bonn, Germany
Kuo-Cheng (David) Huang University of Calgary
Carmen Perrino Washington University St. Louis
Aaron Udager University of Michigan
2013-2014 Francesca Khani Cornell University Medical Center–NYPH
Andrew McDaniel University of Michigan
Enrico Munari University of Verona, Italy
2012-2013 Sara Falzarano Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Gang Wang University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Kyung Park Cornell University Medical Center–NYPH
2011-2012 Diego Segala University of Verona, Italy
Dominique Trudel University Health Network-Toronto General Hospital
Oleksandr Kryvenko Henry Ford Hospital
2010-2011 Steven Smith University of Michigan
Sean Williamson Indiana University
Hongying Huang New York University
2009-2010 Maria Tretiakova University of Chicago
Max (Xiangtian) Kong New York University
Li Yan Khor University Hospitals Case Medical Center
2008-2009 Rohit Mehra University of Michigan
Stefano Gobbo University of Verona, Italy
Stephen Rohan Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
2007-2008 Huihui Ye New York University New York, NY
Núria Juanpere-Rodero Hospital del Mar Barcelona, Spain
Katharina Biermann  Universitaetsklinikum Bonn Bonn, Germany
2006-2007 Tatjana Antic Loyola University Medical Center Maywood, IL
Timothy D. Jones Indiana University School of Medicine Indianapolis, IN
Carlos A. Torres-Cabala NIH/NCI Laboratory of Pathology Bethesda, MD

ISUP Excellence in Urologic Pathology Award

The International Society of Urologic Pathology (ISUP) Excellence in Urologic Pathology Award are awarded annually to residents or fellows for the three best abstracts at the USCAP meeting. The committee is currently chaired by Debra Zynger (Ohio State University, USA). The other committee members are Chin Lee Wu (Harvard University, USA) and Matteo Brunelli (University of Verona, Italy). The committee was chaired by Kenneth Iczkowski 2002-2012 and from 2013-2018 by Adeboye Osunkoya.

2018 Shuhua Ma University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Rola Saleeb University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada
Xiaotun Zhang Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
2017 Sounak Gupta Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
Aseeb Rehman  Albany Medical College, Albany, NY
Aylin Sar  University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2016 Benjamin Buelow University of California, San Fransisco, San Francisco, CA
Vipulkumar Dadhania University of California, San Diego, San Diego, CA
Sara Falzarano Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH
2015 Nooshin K. Dashti Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
Andrew McDaniel University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, MI
Qinghu Ren Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
2014 Max X. Kong Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
Carmen M. Perrino Washington University St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Steven C. Smith Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, LA
2013 Grzegorz T Gurda Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
Vadim Khachaturov Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY
Pawel A Mroz Northwestern University, Chicago, IL
2012 Whitney M. Green Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
Vikas Mehta Loyola University Med Center, Maywood, IL
Haijun Zhou Methodist Hospital, Houston, TX
2011 Jennifer Bup-Jong Kum Indiana University, Indianapolis, IN
Scott Tomlins Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
Carla L. Ellis Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
2010 Rugvedita Satayajeet Parakh
Ceders-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA
Charles J Sailey University of Maryland Med Center, Baltimore, MD
Beatriz Wealter Rodriquez NCI, NIH, Bethesda, MD
2009 Rohit Mehra University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
Ian Bovio University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
Debra L Zynger University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA
2008 Andrew B. Armstrong, M.D.
Bora Gurel
  Priya Nigwekar
 2007 Timothy D. Jones
Juan Miguel Mosquera
Olga Pozdnyakova
2006 Leilei Chen
Rohit Mehra
Nikolay D Dimov
Debra L Zynger
2005 Metin Punar
Timothy D Jones
Gladell P Paner
2002 A. M. Chinnaiyan
Pei Hui
S. E. Mendrinos